Ours

ThinkstockPhotos-490971144

Ours was a story of truth and denial
A heady rush of something that came too late
A vision of what could be, should be, wouldn’t be
Ours was sweet, and tender, and over. See?

Ours was a story of perfection
Just take evolution off the equation.
All I’ve ever wanted was the you of today,
A shame ’cause that was I of yesterday.

Ours was not what I thought it was, was it?
I refuse to hold the losing end of what never happened.
For, something that is ended before it’s started
Is likely to be forgotten before it’s regretted

Ours was friendship rescued from love
The former has better chance of surviving.
To me, I’m a hero; to you, I’m a villain
But it was I, not you, who needed saving.

Leave a Reply

