It Could Be Worse

imagesI am currently reading Mitch Albom’s newest book, The First Phone Call from Heaven. I might write a review once I’m finished, but for now, a particular passage got me thinking: “Bad news has no limit.”

At 27 years old, I felt like I’ve been tossed from one emotion to another more than most people my age do. Most people my age feels the same way about their life, too, so let’s just agree to disagree. 😉 Anyway, a greater part of those emotions were bad feelings brought on by bad situations. Pardon my being very vague, if you read my first ever blog entry (that’s 10 posts ago) I’m a very private person. And my thoughts blabber so much that it can hardly form a concrete, concise topic.

Let me try again and go back to the issue at hand: Bad news has no limit. If you have ever been in a situation where you thought things couldn’t get any worse, then you most certainly know that things could. It doesn’t matter if you pray until your heart bursts, or cry until your sanity is on edge — things can get worse. I love Jesus and I believe in God more than anything else, and I know in hindsight that He heard me and has made me stronger. Faith is beside the point here. I am talking about Fate. If it is your destiny to experience something worse than what you’re going through right now, you will find out for yourself.

That’s what happened to me 10 years ago. I was on, shall I say, the darkest years of my life then. I kept telling my suffering self that, nope, this couldn’t get any worse. It did, though, countless times over the next three years. By the time Fate finally smiled at me, I learned my lesson: It could get worse.

The strangest things happen to people when they face trials; and the same can be said when they overcome the hardship. All those praying and clinging on to my faith has strengthen me. God has strengthen me. I still think that things can get worse, but now that I have learned what I learned, felt what I felt, surpassed what I surpassed, things are different. I am different. Every obstacle I encounter these days makes me think one thing: it could be worse.

I have seen worse. I can get through this, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

