We Ran for Fun and Colors this New Year! (A Color Manila Run 2014 Recap)

SAM_3913

I was so busy last year, that when I realized I didn’t join any fun run, I knew it was too late. So when I found out last December through Facebook that the organizers of Color Manila Run 2 has extended the registration period, I knew I had to do everything to find someone who will run with me. 😀

And here they are:

Photo-Ops by Kit Elma 1 Photo-Ops by Kit Elma 2 GeekRunners3 Tara Trip Tayo 3 JM Dimaliwat 2

In the span of one week, we managed to register, agree on a meeting place and claim our race kits (thanks to Marla for claiming in my behalf), which includes a CM shirt, sunglasses, race bib, finisher’s medal and color packet.

Color Manila Run is basically a feel-good marathon that allows runners to enjoy the exercise while the crew showers them with colored powder in every station. By the time they reach the finish line, they are covered with healthy sweat and splashes of orange, yellow, green, blue, purple and pink! Click here for the specifics.

The run was held at Bonifacio Global City in Taguig, with three categories: 3K, 5K and 10K. Dannah, Marla, Shalom and JD registered for 3K because this is their first time. I joined them because I’m just a newbie myself, while Aly registered for 5K.

SAM_3897 SAM_3895

We set off early hoping to take advantage of the warm up exercise and of course the photo walls they stationed around the BGC Turf, hehe! The excitement is contagious, specially when we’re gathered at the starting line!

SAM_3904  Photo-Ops by Popee Pedro 6

Photo-Ops Trex 2 Photo-Ops by Kit Elma 3 Photo-Ops by Mark 1

By the time we reached the 2nd kilometer, we were all thinking we should have registered for 5K instead. It was that fun and that easy! Soon enough we’re approaching the finish line, where I receive my first ever Finisher’s Medal!

SAM_3907 BEFORE AND AFTER SAM_3922We’re looking forward to joining more runs like this. I don’t think I’m ready for a serious marathon yet, but who knows? 🙂

A special shoutout to the generous photographers on the track: Photo Ops and their crew, Geek Runners, JM Dinaliwat, Tara Trip Tayo and Las Piñas Performers. If you ran with us and looking for photos, check out their Facebook pages. 🙂

Update:

Leave a Reply

