Zombie Run! The Outbreak Manila Experience

First things first: I don’t do sports or serious exercise. The closest I have ever been to being “sporty” was back in high school as member of the table tennis team, and last year’s football game where I tried my best not to be a nuisance. πŸ˜€ But when Aly (an office mate and a good friend who runs 10 km as a hobby) suggested a fun run with zombies, I figured it was the best time to start stretching my hamstrings.

And so my team set off and joined Outbreak Manila, a survival-themed marathon based on a popular race in the U.S.

Photo from wheninmanila.com

It was held in Nuvali, Sta. Rosa, Laguna. A five-kilometer course was peppered with 200 actors dressed in zombie costumes, hiding behind trees and bushes, and plotting our deaths. Fortunately for us, death only means losing all three red flags tied at our waists. (Complete mechanics here.)

My adrenalin rush was a confusing interval of highs and lows as we tried to outsmart the blood-thirsty zombies and keep our wits together as we trudged along the grassy, winding track. In the midst of the excitement, I lost sight of my friends, all except Roe – thank God! I don’t think I’d be able to go through the obstacles all by my clumsy self. As it was, I managed to skin my knee and brush past a very ordinary-looking grass that turned out be a nasty stinger.

I wonder what kind of grass it was. It took two days before the sting completely disappeared.

But all is well that ends well. I had a great time going through the obstacles. My favorites were the labyrinth; the “crawl” which earned us an additional flag; the room with crisscrossed garters with a zombie for company; and the one where we have to hold a piece of smelly “Zombie Guts” and walk like a zombie to get pass the half-dozen undead up ahead. πŸ™‚ I finished the “race” with three flags!

Roe and I met with our other teammates after crossing the finish line, gathered our rewards/tokens, enjoyed the freebies and took pictures.

Photos from Nicole

The weather was too awesome to just go home after the event, so we decided to wash up, find a nice place to do lunch and head up to Tagaytay for dessert!

Perfect weather!
Photo from Nicole

Other runners enjoyed the outdoor shower. We opted for something more private, though. πŸ˜›
Photo from Nicole

Enjoyed our dessert at the Bag of Beans

We spent the rest of the afternoon hanging out in a cozy cottage-style booth at the Bag of Beans, Tagaytay City.

###

UPDATE:

Let’s!

2 thoughts on “Zombie Run! The Outbreak Manila Experience

  1. just read all your entries mami! im at work right now and reading your blog entries makes miss you so much!! see you very soon! =)

Leave a Reply

