To Blog or Not to Blog?

Image courtesy of istockphoto/fotosipsak

I guess by now we all know the answer to that. 🙂

It’s 2012 and everybody has long since been inured to the basics of blogging. Everybody but me, that is. This is my very first blog entry on my very first blog…er, spot? Hurray!

I’m not really sure why I’m doing this. God knows I already have tons of old diaries and journals at home. Why the heck do I have to make my thoughts public? Well, I just want to try it out. 🙂 Nothing wrong with learning new things, eh?

But now that the decision is made, I had to make sure that this blog does not turn into a repository of old rants, heartbreaks and memories of my life’s events that has come a little too short of success. Well, maybe this will turn into that eventually, but let’s try to put a positive slant to it for starters.

Despite the existence of my Facebook, Twitter and Tumblr accounts, I really am a bit private. Really! I have them because my friends have them. And maybe I created this blog because my friends have them, too. Oh, I don’t know. I’ll get back to you when I figured it out myself.

See how this is starting to be a rant-topia? I wonder if bloggers blabber around like this. No, I don’t read blogs. Except some of my friends’ entries. Bear with me folks. I’ll have you know that my journals are worse than this, meaning no one will understand the entries except me. Ah, this is why I don’t do blogs. My paranoia is telling me that you are judging me right now. 🙂 To hell with it. Let’s see how long this will last. Maybe I’m just so bored on this hot Sunday afternoon that I need to do something to take my mind off the blistering heat.

But to tell the truth, I am quite excited about this blogging thing. I mean, it’s OK if no one reads this but me…and my mother whenever she feels like stalking me. The point is, blogging gives you the responsibility and accountability that you never had to worry about when writing on a diary. I’d like to give myself that responsibility, at last. Someone somewhere in the world will stumble upon this entry and the ones to follow, and I have to make sure that whatever I publish will not embarrass the reader…and darn sure must not embarrass me! 🙂

###

Leave a Reply

